Skip to main content

Board of Scientific Directors

The Board of Scientific Directors is charged to work in close collaboration with the NIH Clinical Directors to develop, review, and recommend policies affecting the intramural research programs of the NIH Institutes and Centers to the Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR). Recommendations may require further approvals by higher-level authorities, such as the NIH Institute or Center (IC) Directors, or the Director, NIH.


The Board is co-chaired by the DDIR and an IC Director, and voting members of the Board include all NIH Scientific Directors (or their Deputy or designated alternate). The Executive Secretary is the Deputy Director, Office of Intramural Research (OIR). Other invited attendees include: the NIH Deputy Director; the NIH Deputy Director for Management; the Directors, Office of Human Resource (OHR), Office of Research Services (ORS), Office of Research Facilities (ORF), NIH Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI); a representative of the NIH Assembly of Scientists and staff members of the OIR.


Meetings are regularly scheduled from 9-11 a.m. on the first and third Wednesdays of each month currently fully virtual or in hybrid settings.


Scientific Directors (SD), (including Acting SDs or designated alternates), are expected to attend all meetings.


Suggested agenda items should be brought to the attention of Dr. Richard Wyatt, Executive Secretary (301-496-4920). Agendas are developed with input from the SD Agenda Subcommittee, as well as the DDIR.


The page was last updated on Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 11:28am