Skip to main content

The Director’s Challenge Innovation Award Program

The NIH Director's Challenge Innovation Award Program aims to encourage trans-NIH collaborations, to provide seed money for innovative and high-impact research, and to support the development of new facilities and initiatives that will be available to the Intramural Research Program.

In fiscal year 2018, the program made five 1-year awards, ranging in amount from $50,000 to $600,000. The program supported trans-NIH facilities and centers. The currently funded projects, project leaders, and collaborating Institute/Centers are:

  • The Center on Compulsive Behaviors, Veronica Alvarez (NIAAA, NIMH, NIDA, NICHD, NIEHS, NINDS, NIDDK)
  • Natural Product Library Acquisition and Screening, Matthew Hall (NCATS, NCI, NIDDK)
  • Establishment of a CRISPR-based trans-NIH Functional Genomics HTS Platform, Marc Ferrer (NCATS, NCI, NEI, NINDS)
  • Advancing NIH Super-Resolution Optical Microscopy Capabilities, Josh Zimmerberg (NICHD, NIAID, NIBIB, NINDS, NHLBI, NIDDK, NCI)
  • The Genomic Ascertainment Cohort (TGAC), Les Biesecker (NHGRI, NIAMS)

A Call for Proposals for FY 2019 will be announced at a later time.

For more information, contact Dr. Charles Dearolf, OIR Director of Program Development and Support.

The page was last updated on Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 3:05pm