Skip to main content

Central Tenure Committee (CTC)

The 1994 report of the External Advisory Committee on the NIH Intramural Research Program recommended that an NIH-wide tenure committee, composed of at least 12 tenured scientists, serve as an advisory body to the Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR). In keeping with this recommendation, the first meeting of the Central Tenure Committee (CTC) was held on June 1, 1994. The CTC replaces the Board of Scientific Directors in making final recommendations to the DDIR on all tenure decisions.

Purpose and Function

The purpose of the CTC is to review nominations for tenure and make recommendations to the DDIR, who is the deciding official. The DDIR is the committee chair and one of the Assistant Directors, OIR, serves as the executive secretary. In addition, four expert panels – the Clinical Investigator Review Panel, the Computer Scientist Review Panel, the Epidemiology and Biometry Review Panel, and the Behavioral Investigator Review Panel – have been established to provide advice to the CTC and the DDIR in specialized areas.

The CTC membership represents a mix of outstanding senior intramural scientists involved in both basic and clinical research. The term of service for committee members is four years, established so that one-fourth of members rotate on and off the committee each year. Meetings are scheduled twice monthly, according to availability of submitted cases, usually on Monday afternoons at 3:00 p.m.

To submit a case for the CTC, please create a single pdf with the required items below in the order stipulated. Do not bookmark. PDF must be editable. Submit by e-mail to Dr. Arlyn García-Pérez. Please click here for the Tenure Check Sheet.

Tenure recommendations are presented by the appropriate Scientific Director (SD), who is accompanied by the Laboratory/Branch Chief to answer questions regarding resources, skills, accomplishments, and how the candidate's work meets the goals of the institute.

For further logistical information call the Office of Intramural Research (OIR) at 301-496-1381 or 301-496-1921.


October 1, 2021 - September 30, 2022

Dr. Michael M. Gottesman
Deputy Director for Intramural Research

Dr. Arlyn Garcia-Perez
Director of Policy and Analysis, OIR
Executive Secretary

Dr. Mirit Aladjem, NCI-CCR
Dr. Veronica Alvarez, NIAAA
Dr. Jonathan Ashwell, NCI-CCR
Dr. Joan Bailey-Wilson, NHGRI
Dr. Anirban Banerjee, NICHD
Dr. Mark Cookson, NIA
Dr. Ann Dean, NIDDK
Dr. Laura Elnitski, NHGRI
Dr. Michele K. Evans, NIA

Dr. Michael Fessler, NIEHS
Dr. Theo Heller, NIDDK
Dr. Zheng Li, NIMH
Dr. Victor Lobanenkov, NIAID
Dr. Deborah Merke, CC
Dr. Joseph Mindell, NINDS
Dr. Marisela Morales, NIDA
Dr. Hari Shroff, NIBIB
Dr. Clare Waterman, NHLBI


Dr. Janice Lee, DDICR
Dr. John Gallin, CC
OEDI Representative

Ms. Dierdre Andrews, OIR Program Specialist

Advisory Review Panels to the CTC

The Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR) has appointed several review panels to provide advice on personnel actions in the specialized areas of epidemiology, biometry, computer science, clinical investigation, and behavioral research. The panels review and make recommendations on proposals for tenure of epidemiologists, statisticians, biometricians, computer scientists, and clinical and behavioral investigators.

Panel members are senior NIH scientists, invited by the DDIR for their special expertise. Meetings of the Panels are held as necessary, to discuss specific cases forwarded by the Office of Intramural Research (OIR). OIR manages the distribution and review of cases by a panel as necessary. No additional copies that those specified in the Tenure Appointment Check Sheet are needed for that. Click here for the Tenure Check Sheet.

For further logistical information call the Office of Intramural Research (OIR) at 301-496-3561.

Membership (Advisory Review Panels)

Behavioral Investigator Review Panel

Dr. Susan Resnick, NIA

Dr. Karen Berman, NIMH

Clinical Investigator Review Panel

Dr. Joel Moss, NHLBI

Dr. Cynthia Dunbar, NHLBI
Dr. Marston Linehan, NCI
Dr. Ellen Sidransky, NHGRI

Dr. Brigitte Widemann, NCI-CCR
Dr. Brad Wood, CC

Computational Scientist Review Panel

Dr. Andy Baxevanis, NHGRI

Dr. Teresa Przytycka, NLM

Dr. Bernard Brooks, NHLBI

Dr. Mark Knepper, NHLBI

Epidemiology and Biometry Review Panel

Dr. Dale Sandler, NIEHS

Dr. Paul Albert, NCI-DCEG
Dr. Emily Chew, NEI
Dr. Dean Follman, NIAID

Dr. Lenore Launer, NIA
Dr. Kathleen Merikangas, NIMH
Dr. Lindsay Morton, NCI-DCEG

The page was last updated on Friday, October 15, 2021 - 11:56am